Fleetwood Museum is a community museum, run by Fleetwood Museum Trust, a Charitable Incorporated Organisation. We receive funding from the people of Fleetwood through Fleetwood Town Council – a third tier local authority. We believe we are the only museum in the country to be funded in this way.
The Trust took over the operation of the museum buildings and management of the object collection on behalf of Lancashire County Council from 1st April 2018.
The museum exists to collect, preserve, interpret and share the rich history of Fleetwood. Our vision is to educate, remind and inspire people of all ages to engage with Fleetwood’s fascinating heritage. Our mission is to be at the heart of the local community where visitors can come together to learn, engage and belong.
The museum has a full-time manager supported by a large team of active volunteers from the local community – without them there would be no museum. There is also an active Friends of the Museum organisation – for more information on volunteering or becoming a friend:
The museum began in the early 1970s as a local history collection in the old Dock Street Library. Eventually permanent showcases were built and The Margaret Rowntree Room, named after Fleetwood’s first female mayor – was established. In 1982, as part of Maritime England Year, the ground floor and basement of the Dock Street Library were converted into Fleetwood Museum. The main emphasis here was maritime history.
In 1991 the museum was moved to its present site at 6-7 Queen’s Terrace.
Since 1991 the museum has occupied the original town Custom House designed by the great neo-classical architect Decimus Burton. Burton was engaged in designing the layout of the new seaside town of Fleetwood, and its most prominent buildings from 1836 until 1843. Originally the building stood in splendid isolation with ornamental gardens surrounding it to the sides and rear. The entrance hall mosaic floor is particularly notable, dating back to the buildings origins. An additional building, the Wyre Holm boarding house, was later added to the original building on the north side. In the 1890s, the building became the local council office and later the Town Hall when Fleetwood was made a Municipal Borough in 1933.
Our team of over 50 volunteers from the local community are involved in many aspects of running the museum. Become a volunteer:
Fleetwood Museum and Fleetwood Museum Trust are a Charitable Incorporated Organisation (CIO), Charity number 1168613